The LONGLIST

ongratulations to those that have made it onto the longlist of NALC's new Star Councils 2015 awards. We are delighted with the number of entries that came in. Some categories proved more popular than others, but the high calibre was consistent across the board. The judging panel will have a tough job deciding the top three finalists for each category, giving us a winner and two runners-up.

Congratulations must also go to those who entered. Blowing your own trumpet isn't easy, but celebrating all that our local (parish and town) councils, councillors and staff do is a must if we're all to get the recognition and support that we deserve.

The three finalists for each category will be invited to send one representative to our special awards event being held in Birmingham on 27 October 2015.

YOUNG COUNCILLOR of the Year

Alex Collier, Cottenham Parish Council, Cambridgeshire Hannah Marsh, Westerham Town Council, Kent Ian Geldard, Spennymoor Town Council, County Durham John Davis, Yate Town Council, Gloucestershire Rosie Corrigan, Selby Town Council, Yorkshire Simon Gibson, Verwood Town Council, Dorset

CLERK of the Year

Dave Langmead, Sturton le Steeple, Nottinghamshire Debra Roberts, Feock Parish Council, Cornwall

Denise Humphries, Boxted Parish Council, Copford & Easthorpe Parish Council, Essex

Fiona Palmer, Castle Donington Parish Council, Leicestershire Heidi Frary, Barford & Wramplingham Parish Council, Barnham Broom Parish Council, Cranworth Parish Council, Ovington Parish Council, Scoulton Parish Council, Wreningham Parish Council, Norfolk

Helen Schofield, West Hoathly Parish Council, Sussex Jan Nowecki, Wokingham Town Council, Berkshire Karen Kuderovitch, Woodham Ferrers & Bicknacre Parish Council, Essex

Michael Johnson, Lakes Parish Council, Cumbria Michelle Curtis, Tollesbury Parish Council, Essex Penny Langham, Nether Alderley Parish Council, Cheshire Richard Crighton, Newland Parish Council, Gloucestershire Sally Thurston, Faringdon Town Council, Oxfordshire Sheila Brown, Cockermouth Town Council, Cumbria Suzanne Walker, Great Notley Parish Council, Essex

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF LOCAL COUNCILS STAR COUNCILS 2015

COUNCILLOR of the Year

Alix Martin, Alston Moore Parish Council, Cumbria Derek Ailes, Chrishall Parish Council, Essex Esme Butler, Blandford Forum Town Council, Dorset Philip Thompson, Lakes Parish Council, Cumbria Robert Carey, Earnley Parish Council, Sussex Susan Jones, Dover Town Council, Kent Tony Muluck, Ditton Parish Council, Kent

CHAIR of the Year

Graham Bonner, Buntingford Town Council, Hertfordshire John James, Newland Parish Council, Gloucestershire June Saltmash, Woodham Ferrers & Bicknacre Parish Council, Essex

Pat Baldwin, West Haddon Parish Council, Northamptonshire Wayne Botting, Telscombe Town Council, Sussex

COUNCIL WORKER of the Year

Allan Moffat, Bracknell Town Council, Berkshire Eloise-Mary Medland, Buckingham Town Council, Buckinghamshire Frances Lawrence, Hermitage Parish Council, Berkshire Gina Annett, Ditton Parish Council, Kent James Williams, Mickey Brammall and Andy Hill, Shrewsbury Town Council, Shropshire Nigel Saunders, Ditton Parish Council, Kent Sarah Gelsthorp, Houghton Regis Town Council, Bedfordshire

Vinni Stepp, Faringdon Town Council, Oxfordshire

CALC OUTSTANDING PROJECT of the Year

County Durham Association of Local Councils Essex Association of Local Councils (three projects) Hampshire Association of Local Councils Hertfordshire Association of Local Councils (two projects) Leicestershire & Rutland Association of Local Councils Lincolnshire Association of Local Councils Oxfordshire Association of Local Councils With the first round of judging over, we reveal who has made it to the next round of the Star Councils 2015 awards

LOCAL COUNCIL OUTSTANDING PROJECT of the Year

Abbots Langley Parish Council, Hertfordshire Castle Donington Parish Council, Derbyshire Cirencester Town Council, Gloucestershire Feock Parish Council, Cornwall Frome Town Council, Somerset Levens Parish Council, Cumbria Messing cum Inworth Parish Council, Essex Newland Parish Council, Gloucestershire Newport Pagnell Town Council, Buckinghamshire Oswestry Town Council, Shropshire Ringwood Town Council, Hampshire Shrewsbury Town Council, Shropshire West Bletchley Council, Buckinghamshire Wokingham Town Council, Berkshire

COUNCIL of the Year

Buckingham Town Council, Buckinghamshire Castle Donington Parish Council, Derbyshire Campbell Park Parish Council, Buckinghamshire Danbury Parish Council, Essex Frome Town Council, Somerset Loughton Town Council, Essex Maplestead Parish Council, Essex Oswestry Town Council, Shropshire Rayleigh Town Council, Shropshire Rayleigh Town Council, Essex Ringwood Town Council, Hampshire Sevenoaks Town Council, Kent Stone Parish Council, Kent Uppingham Parish Council, Leicestershire Waltham Abbey Town Council, Essex Wickham Parish Council, Suffolk

DIGITAL COMMUNICATIONS of the Year

Bognor Regis Town Council, Sussex Cottenham Parish Council, Cambridgeshire Everton Parish Council, Nottinghamshire Farnham Town Council, Surrey Ongar Town Council, Essex Saughall & Shotwick Parish Council, Cheshire Shrewsbury Town Council, Shropshire Stone Parish Council, Kent West Bletchley Council, Buckinghamshire



LCR CAN HELP TELL YOUR STORY

Do you want to raise your company profile? Report a new product launch? Make a major announcement? Then the best way to get your message out is to advertise in *LCR* magazine. Here, you get a direct route to 9,000 councils made up of 80,000 councillors, all ready to 'listen' to what you want to tell them.

For more information, contact Lisa Martin on: 020 7079 9361 or email: advertising@portmanmedia.co.uk