2016 C’llr Awards winners announced

2016 C’llr Awards winners announced

Councillors across the UK were honoured for their public service as the 2016 C’llr Award Winners were revealed.

This year’s winners of the LGiU and CCLA’s annual ceremony were selected from 200 nominations—a record amount for the Awards—and chosen by a group of judges made up of local government experts and councillors.

The NALC backed prize for Parish Councillor of the Year went to Cllr Chris Brown, Cholesbury-Cum-St Leonards Parish Council.

LGiU chief executive Jonathan Carr-West said:  “The 2016 C’llr Award winners showcase the best of the best across local government. These are the councillors who are working tirelessly to make our communities better places to live.

“For the past seven years we have been honouring the work of councillors, but this year’s winners have really pushed the envelope.

Cllr Ken Browse, chair of NALC, said: “It is such a privilege to support the inaugural Parish Councillor of the Year category. On behalf of NALC we would like to congratulate all the finalists, honourable mentioned and winner of this category. We congratulate them on their outstanding work and are looking forward to hearing about their future accomplishments.”

Full list of winners:

Parish Councillor of the Year, in association with NALC: Cllr Chris Brown, Cholesbury-Cum-St Leonards Parish Council. Cllr Derek Lacey, Chesham Town Council (Honourable mention).

County Councillor of the Year (including Unitary): Cllr Lynn Pallister, Redcar & Cleveland Council.

District Councillor of the Year: Cllr Edward Turner, Oxford City Council. Cllr Ida Carmichael, Burnley Borough Council (Honourable mention).

Metropolitan Borough Councillor of the Year: Cllr Joanne Dodds, City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council. Cllr Lucinda Yeadon, Leeds City Council (Honourable mention).

Leader of the Year: Cllr Sharon Taylor, Stevenage Borough Council.

Local Trust’s Community Collaborator Award: Cllr Lisa Rutter, Barnet Council. Cllr Sarah Judge, Manchester City Council (Honourable mention).

Lifetime Achievement: Cllr Marion Brighton, North Kesteven District Council.

Young Councillor of the Year: Cllr Fozia Shaheen, Bradford Council.

Member’s Choice: Communicator of the Year: Cllr Phil Bateman, City of Wolverhampton Council.

Media Watch | 53
NALC opposes creeping centralism on council tax se...

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to