The NALC Star Council Awards, sponsored by BHIB Councils Insurance, are a fantastic opportunity for local councils, councillors, clerks and county associations to showcase how they have made a positive difference locally. They are the only awards in England to recognise the contribution local councils make to their communities.

This year, the theme of the awards is around how local councils have engaged with their communities and made a positive impact on them. We received over 120 nominations to the awards this year and would like to thank everyone who participated.

Being a Star Council Awards winner not only gives local councils national recognition for the services they have provided to their community but also allows them to share their expertise with their peers. Winners were announced at an awards dinner at the NALC Annual Conference, on 30 October 2018 at DoubleTree by Hilton in Milton Keynes.

Read more about the awards


Council of the Year (sponsored by Blachere Illumination):

  • Northwich Town Council, Cheshire (winners)
  • Watchet Town Council, Somerset (runners-up)
  • Cogenhoe and Whiston Parish Council, Northamptonshire (runners-up)

Councillor of the Year (sponsored by Came and Company Local Councils Insurance Brokers):

  • Cllr Nick Penny, Coleford Town Council, Gloucestershire (winner)
  • Cllr Judy Westacott, Totnes Town Council, Devon (runner-up)
  • Cllr Jon Hale, Odiham Parish Council, Hampshire (runner-up)

Young Councillor of the Year (sponsored by Vaughtons):

  • Cllr Melissa Boyden, Asfordby Parish Council, Leicestershire (winner)
  • Cllr Gregah Roughead, Berwick upon Tweed Town Council, Northumberland (runner-up)
  • Cllr Sam Kenward, Beccles Town Council, Suffolk (runner-up)

County Association Project of the Year (sponsored by CCLA):

  • Sussex Associations of Local Councils (winner)
  • Essex Association of Local Councils (runner-up)
  • Warwickshire and West Midlands Association of Local Councils (runner-up) 

Clerk of the Year (sponsored by Vision ICT and DCK Accounting Solutions):

  • Jayne Cooper, Gnosall Parish Council, Staffordshire (winner)
  • Dena Ludford, Thaxted Parish Council, Essex (runner-up)
  • Rebecca Hill, Settle Town Council, Yorkshire (runner-up) 

See this year's Star Council Awards Winners Brochure