Star Councils 2015 Awards finalists

The National Association of Local Councils (NALC) has today (30th September) announced the finalists for its Star Councils Awards.

NALC Star Councils 2015 Awards is an all important recognition of all the amazingly effective hard work this being undertaken by local (parish and town) councils, local councillors, local council officers and workers as well as County Associations of Local Councils.

NALC was inundated with hundreds of nominations, which shows and highlights the ‘localist powerhouse’ work undertaken at the neighbourhood and community level. This all comes within the background of opportunities available through devolution and localism; and the challenges of the difficult financial climate many local areas face at the moment.

Cllr Ken Browse, NALC chairman and chair of the Star Councils 2015 judging panel, said: “The Panel was chaired by myself and included representatives from the Department of Communities and Local Government, Action with Rural Communities England, Society of Local Council Clerks, NALC, organisations in the Localism Alliance, as well as the award sponsors.

“The judging panel on the day had to make some very tough and difficult decisions because the standard of entrees were so high. Indeed the judging panel remarked it was wonderful and amazing to see all this incredible community engagement going on in our sector. It was a day to make us proud of the sector!”

The winners in each category will be announced at the Star Councils 2015 Awards Ceremony at the NALC Annual Conference in Birmingham on 27th October 2015.



Council of the Year

Oswestry Town Council, Shropshire

Campbell Park Parish Council, Buckinghamshire

Frome Town Council, Somerset


Councillor of the Year

Alix Martin, Alston Moore Parish Council, Cumbria

Susan Jones, Dover Town Council, Kent

Derek Ailes, Chrishall Parish Council, Essex


Chair of the Year

John James, Newland Parish Council, Gloucestershire

June Saltmash, Woodham Ferrers & Bicknacre Parish Council, Essex

Pat Baldwin, West Haddon Parish Council, Northamptonshire


County Association of Local Councils (CALC) outstanding project of the year

Essex ALC - Police Partnership Conference

Hertfordshire ALC – Clerk Leadership Programme

Oxfordshire ALC - Oxford University Digital Partnership Project


Local Council outstanding project of the year

Frome Town Council, Somerset

Newland Parish Council, Gloucestershire

Oswestry Town Council, Shropshire


Young Councillor of the Year (Aged 18-30)

Alex Collier, Cottenham Parish Council, Cambridgeshire

Hannah Marsh, Westerham Town Council, Kent

Simon Gibson, Verwood Town Council, Dorset


Clerk of the Year

Debra Roberts, Feock Parish Council, Cornwall

Fiona Palmer, Castle Donington Parish Council, Leicestershire

Jan Nowecki, Wokingham Town Council, Berkshire


Council worker of the year

Allan Moffat, Bracknell Town Council, Berkshire

Frances Lawrence, Hermitage Parish Council, Berkshire

Nigel Saunders Ditton Parish Council Kent


Digital communications of the year

Bognor Regis Town Council, Sussex

Farnham Town Council, Surrey

Stone Parish Council, Kent


Media Watch | 34
Council of the Week: Lydney Town Council

This site uses cookies.

By continuing to use this site, you agree to their use Learn more

I understand