NALC announces Star Councils 2017 winners


The National Association of Local Councils (NALC) has announced on 30 October 2017 the winners of the Star Councils 2017 awards.

The Star Councils 2016 awards are an all important recognition of all the amazingly effective hard work this being undertaken by local councils, local councillors, local council officers and workers as well as county associations.

NALC were inundated with hundreds of nominations, which shows and highlights the localist powerhouse work undertaken at the neighbourhood and community level. This all comes within the background of opportunities available through devolution and localism; and the challenges of the difficult financial climate many local areas face at the moment.

Cllr Sue Baxter, chairman of NALC, said: “The judging panel included representatives from the Department of Communities and Local Government, County Councils Network (part of the Local Government Association), Queen Mary’s University of London, Society of Local Council Clerks, and NALC.

“The judging panel on the day had to make some very tough and difficult decisions because the standard of entrees were so high. Indeed the judging panel remarked it was wonderful and amazing to see all this incredible community engagement going on in our sector. It was a day to make us proud of the sector!”

The winners in each category were announced at the Star Councils 2015 Awards Ceremony at the NALC Annual Conference in Birmingham on 19th October 2016. The Awards were hosted by Lord Matthew Taylor, president of NALC.

Find out more about Star Councils 2017

Young Councillor of the Year – Sponsored by Vaughtons

Winner: Cllr Kellie Hinton, Henley on Thames Town Council, Oxfordshire

Runners-up: Cllr Dan Danbur, Polegate Town Council, East Sussex and Cllr Elliott Jayes, Minister-on-Sea Parish Council, Kent

Clerk of the Year – Sponsored by Vision ICT

Winner: Mark Williams, Falmouth Town Council, Cornwall

Runners-up: Shar Roselman, Newport Pagnell Town Council, Milton Keynes and Sylvia Dobie, Gillingham Town Council, Dorset

Councillor of the Year – Sponsored by Stackhouse Poland

Winner: Cllr Mike Brownlow Bruton Town Council, Somerset

Runners-up: Cllr Thomas Aram, Sawley Parish Council, Derbyshire and Cllr Rachel Hogley, Holme Valley Parish Council, Yorkshire

County Association Outstanding Project of the Year – Sponsored by CCLA

Winner: Kent Association of Local Councils

Runners-up: Herefordshire Association of Local Councils and Northamptonshire County Association of Local Councils

Local Council Outstanding Project of the Year – Sponsored by DCK Accounting Solutions

Winner: Barrow Gurney Parish Council, Somerset

Runners-up: Peacehaven and Telscombe Town Councils, Sussex and Gotherington Parish Council, Gloucestershire

Council of the Year – Sponsored by Blachere Illuminations

Winner: Halewood Town Council, Merseyside

Runners-up: Farnham Town Council, Surrey and Helston Town Council, Cornwall

Special contribution to the local council sector

Winner: David Preston, Oswestry Town Council

NALC joins forces with the Alzheimer’s Society to ...
Future of rural communities under spotlight