NALC announces Star Council Awards finalist - vote for your Council of the Year

The National Association of Local Councils (NALC) Star Council Awards are the only awards in England to recognise the achievements of local council sector.

The awards celebrate the positive impact of local (parish and town) councils, county associations, councillors and clerks.

The judging panel met on 14 September 2018 to choose this year's finalists to make their decision on who will be crowned the local council sector’s community champions of 2018. 

The judges shared some positive words about the quality of this year's nominations, which you can watch on the Star Council Awards webpage.

This year, the Council of the Year award will be decided by a public vote. Find out more about the finalist and cast your vote

This year's finalists are:

Council of the Year:

  • Cogenhoe and Whiston Parish Council (Northamptonshire)
  • Northwich Town Council (Cheshire)
  • Watchet Town Council (Somerset)

Councillor of the Year:

  • Cllr Jon Hale (Odiham Parish Council, Hampshire)
  • Cllr Judy Westacott (Totnes Town Council, Devon) 
  • Cllr Nick Penny (Coleford Town Council, Gloucestershire)

Young Councillor of the Year:

  • Cllr Gregah Roughead (Berwick upon Tweed Town Council, Northumberland)
  • Cllr Melissa Boyden (Asfordby Parish Council, Leicestershire)
  • Cllr Sam Kenward (Beccles Town Council, Suffolk)

County Association Project of the Year:

  • Essex Association of Local Councils
  • Warwickshire and West Midlands Association of Local Councils
  • Sussex Associations of Local Councils

Clerk of the Year:

  • Dena Ludford (Thaxted Parish Council, Essex)
  • Jayne Cooper (Gnosall Parish Council, Staffordshire)
  • Rebecca Hill (Settle Town Council, Yorkshire)
New London town council could be on the cards
Government publishes updated model byelaws

This site uses cookies.

By continuing to use this site, you agree to their use Learn more

I understand