NALC launches Star Council Awards 2021


The National Association of Local Councils (NALC) has announced that it is once again running its awards programme this year as part of its work to recognise the local (parish and town) council sector’s achievements.

The Star Council Awards are the only awards in England to recognise and celebrate the local council sector’s brilliant contribution to its communities. Therefore, the awards are an excellent opportunity for councils, councillors, clerks, and county associations to showcase how they have made a real difference locally.

This year, the theme of the awards will focus on projects that have positively impacted communities in the context of COVID-19.

Cllr Sue Baxter, NALC chairman, said: “We have had an unprecedented year in which our sector has shown its true commitment to its communities by stepping up to support them through the pandemic. In recognition of this work, and because they deserve to be publicly applauded, I would urge all those community champions who have made a positive difference during COVID-19 to enter the awards.”

The five award categories are: 

  • Clerk of the Year
  • County Association Project of the Year 
  • Young Councillor of the Year
  • Councillor of the Year
  • Council of the Year 

NALC will announce the winners at an online ceremony in September.

Entrants have until 25 May 2021 to submit their entries.

Find out more about the awards and how to enter

NALC urges the government to maintain an extended ...
NALC chief executive writes to clerks about civili...