NALC celebrates excellence as it crowns its Star Council Awards winners


The National Association of Local Councils (NALC) announced its Star Council Awards winners at a dazzling ceremony held on 29 November 2023 at the prestigious House of Lords.

The event brought together councillors, clerks, MPs, parliamentarians, academics, national stakeholders and leading opinion formers to honour the individuals and organisations that have demonstrated exceptional talent, innovation, and dedication in supporting their communities.

The night was filled with excitement and anticipation as guests and finalists eagerly awaited the announcement of the winners. The Star Council Awards has become a hallmark occasion in recognising and celebrating the achievements of local (parish and town) councils.

This year's winners stood out among an impressive pool of nominees, showcasing their commitment to excellence and significant contributions to their communities. The esteemed panel of judges had the challenging task of selecting the best of the best.

The ceremony included a speech by the newly appointed local government minister, Simon Hoare MP, who expressed his gratitude for local councils' work for their communities across the country. The evening was not only a celebration of achievements but an opportunity for the sector to network, collaborate, and inspire one another.

NALC chair, Cllr Keith Stevens, commented, "Hearty congratulations to all the winners of the Star Council Awards! Your exemplary dedication and outstanding contributions to local governance shine as beacons of inspiration. In communities large and small, your tireless efforts have made a lasting impact, fostering inclusivity, innovation, and progress. As we celebrate your achievements, we also celebrate the resilience, creativity, and leadership defining local governance's heart. Well done to all the winners – you are true stars in the tapestry of community service!"

The winners of the Star Council Awards are:

Council of the Year

Braunstone Town Council, Leicestershire and Rutland

Councillor of the Year

Cllr Lorna Berrett, Botley and North Hinksey Parish Council, Oxfordshire

Young Councillor of the Year

Cllr Cameron Palin, East Cowes Town Council, Isle of Wight

County Association of the Year  

Essex Association of Local Councils

Clerk of the Year 

Andrea Mann, Odiham Parish Council, Hampshire

Clear Councils Insurance, Cloudy IT, Blachere Illumination, Breakthrough Communications, CCLA, and DCK Accounting Solutions sponsor the Star Council Awards.

Read more about the winners and finalists

NALC’S coastal communities network publishes surve...
NALC announces results of its committee elections

This site uses cookies.

By continuing to use this site, you agree to their use Learn more

I understand