NALC launches the Local Council Award Scheme criteria review consultation


The National Association of Local Councils (NALC) has announced the launch of a consultation as part of the Local Council Award Scheme (LCAS) criteria review.

LCAS celebrates the successes of the best local (parish and town) councils and provides a framework to support all local councils in improving and developing their full potential. As part of continued improvements to the scheme and a commitment to raising standards in local councils, NALC is seeking views on how the scheme's criteria and guidance can be improved.

The scheme consists of three award levels:

  • The Quality Gold Award demonstrates that a council aspires to excellence and is at the forefront of best practice by achieving a high standard in Community Governance, Leadership and Performance Management.
  • The Quality Award demonstrates that a council achieves good practice in governance, community engagement and council improvement, going beyond its legal obligations and continuously seeking opportunities to improve and develop.
  • The Foundation Award demonstrates that a council has the required documentation and information to operate lawfully and according to standard practice and has the foundations and policies for improvement and development in place. 

NALC encourages councillors, county associations, clerks, other interested parties, and those already involved with the scheme to put forward their ideas and suggestions by participating in the consultation. It will then help inform improvements moving forward. The consultation closes on 20 March 2024. If you have any queries, contact NALC at 

Complete the form

Open letter: Promoting and supporting the first ti...
Ensuring no one is left behind as UK landlines go ...

This site uses cookies.

By continuing to use this site, you agree to their use Learn more

I understand