NALC declares Star Councils Awards long list


The National Association of Local Councils (NALC) has today (30th August) announced the long list for its Star Councils Awards.

NALC Star Councils 2017 Awards is an all important recognition of all the amazingly effective hard work this being undertaken by local (parish and town) councils, local councillors, local council officers and as well as by County Associations of Local Councils.

NALC was inundated with hundreds of nominations, which shows and highlights the ‘localist powerhouse’ work undertaken at the neighbourhood and community level. This all comes within the background of opportunities available through devolution and localism; and the challenges of the difficult financial climate many local areas face at the moment.

Cllr Sue Baxter, NALC chairman said: “NALC had to make some very tough and difficult decisions for the long list, because the standard of entrees were so high. Indeed it was wonderful and amazing to see all this incredible community engagement going on in our sector. It was a day to make us proud of the sector.”

The winners in each category will be announced at the Star Councils 2017 Awards Ceremony at the NALC Annual Conference in Milton Keynes on 30th October 2017.

Council of the Year:

  • Beverley Town Council, East Yorkshire
  • Farnham Town Council, Surrey
  • Feock Parish Council, Cornwall
  • Halewood Town Council, Merseyside
  • Helston Town Council, Cornwall
  • Hurworth Parish Council, County Durham
  • Knutsford Town Council, Cheshire

  • Leominster Town Council, Herefordshire
  • Newton Abbot Town Council, Devon
  • Sudbury Town Council, Suffolk
  • Watchet Town Council, Somerset
  • Winsford Town Council, Cheshire

Local Council Outstanding Project of the Year – Health and Well Being:

  • Barrow Gurney Parish Council, Avon
  • Blandford Forum Town Council, Dorset
  • Beverley Town Council, East Yorkshire
  • Buckingham Town Council, Buckinghamshire
  • Gotherington Parish Council, Gloucestershire
  • Macclesfield Town Council, Cheshire
  • Peacehaven and Telscombe Town Council, East Sussex
  • South Petherton Parish Council, Somerset
  • Swanley Town Council, Kent
  • West Moors Parish Council, Dorset
  • Winsford Town Council, Cheshire

Councillor of the Year:

  • Cllr Deborah Brown, Cleobury Mortimer Town Council, Shropshire
  • Cllr Di Kelly, Withyham Parish Council, Sussex
  • Cllr James Sims, West Hanningfield Parish Council, Essex
  • Cllr Joan Walker, Stony Stratford Town Council, Milton Keynes
  • Cllr Mike Brownlow, Bruton Town Council, Somerset
  • Cllr Rachel Hogley, Holme Valley Parish Council, Yorkshire
  • Cllr Stephen Hirst, Tetbury Town Council, Gloucestershire
  • Cllr Thomas Aram,  Sawley Parish Council, Derbyshire

Young Councillor of the Year (Aged 18-30):

  • Cllr Dan Dunbar, Polegate Town Council, Sussex

  • Cllr Elliot Jayes, Minster-on-Sea Parish Council, Kent

  • Cllr Kellie Hinton, Henley on Thames Town Council, Oxfordshire

Clerk of the Year:

  • David Preston, Oswestry Town Council, Shropshire
  • Julie Chance, Cromer Town Council, Norfolk
  • Leah Coney, Alton Town Council, Hampshire
  • Linda Scott-Giles, Blandford Forum Town Council, Dorset
  • Mark Williams, Falmouth Town Council, Cornwall
  • Matthew Sheehan, Cleobury Mortimer Town Council, Shropshire
  • Paul Russell, Leominster Town Council, Herefordshire
  • Sarah Reed, Watchet Town Council, Somerset
  • Shar Roselman, Newport Pagnell Town Council, Milton Keynes
  • Sylvia Dobie, Gillingham Town Council, Dorset

County Association of Local Councils (CALC) Outstanding Project of the Year:

  • Cleveland Local Councils Association
  • Dorset Association of Parish and Town Councils
  • Herefordshire Association of Local Councils
  • Kent Association of Local Councils (project 1)
  • Kent Association of Local Councils (project 3)

  • Northamptonshire Association of Local Councils
NALC looks ahead to future support for larger coun...
Ambitions to increase affordable rural housing

This site uses cookies.

By continuing to use this site, you agree to their use Learn more

I understand