Newly elected MPs to champion local councils


Cherilyn Mackrory MP for Falmouth and Truro, and Richard Holden MP for North West Durham, both elected in December's General Election, are to become champions of local (parish and town) councils in parliament.

At today's (5 February) All-Party Parliamentary Group for local democracy, both became the new co-chairs of the group taking over from Scott Mann MP, North Cornwall, who has stood down from the role.

The role of the group, which comprises parliamentarians from both Houses of Parliament, and includes former NALC president and cross-bencher, Lord Lytton, is to promote local democracy and in particular the role of the first tier local government in England.

Scott Mann MP, said: "It has been an enormous privilege to lead the group over the last few years and promote in parliament local (parish and town) councils who are the front line of our local democracy. I have personally championed our 'toilet tax' campaign, including ministers. But I am keen to hand over the reins to new colleagues who I know are supportive as I am of the important and growing role parish and town councils play in building strong communities."

Cherilyn Mackrory MP said: "I want to say a huge thanks to NALC for their continued support to the group and their tireless work, along with the 43 county associations, in supporting local councils. I look forward to building on the previous sterling work of the group and my fellow Cornish MP Scott Mann in particular. I'm also thrilled at the appointment of Baroness Scott of Bybrook as NALC's president, and I look forward to working with her and my fellow co-chair Mr Holden."

Richard Holden MP, said: "I'm delighted to take up this role to advance the cause of grassroots local democracy at what is an exciting time for local councils. There is a great deal in the government's manifesto where local councils can help, from devolution to high streets, civic infrastructure to towns and high streets, health and wellbeing to climate change. But they mustn't be overlooked, and so our job as a group of cross-party parliamentarians will be to raise their profile as the first tier of local government, to work with the government where we can, but also challenge them when we must."

Previous chairs and co-chairs have included Rory Stewart, Tess Munt and Andrea Jenkyns MP.

NALC expands its services with a new suite of HR r...
NALC tells government not to weaken the planning s...

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to