NALC announces Star Council Awards 2022 finalists 


The National Association of Local Councils (NALC) has today announced who is in the running for the 2022 Star Council Awards.

The Star Councils Awards recognise the positive contribution of local (parish and town) councils, councillors, young councillors, county associations and clerks to their communities.

NALC can reveal the finalists this year are:

Council of the Year

  • Alcester Town Council, Warwickshire and West Midlands
  • Bridport Town Council, Dorset
  • Flitwick Town Council, Bedfordshire
  • Hatton Parish Council, Derbyshire
  • Totnes Town Council, Devon

Councillor of the Year

  • Cllr Tom Barkley, Syston Town Council
  • Cllr Shaun Davies, Great Dawley Town Council
  • Cllr April Gardner, Debden Parish Council
  • Cllr Katherine Keats-Rohan, Wallingford Town Council
  • Cllr Jeremy Richardson, Cold Norton Parish Council

Young Councillor of the Year

  • Cllr Jake Bonetta, Honiton Town Council
  • Cllr Adam Duce, Godalming Town Council
  • Cllr Frankie Gilkes, Rothersthorpe Parish Council
  • Cllr Susie Harris, Greatham Parish Council
  • Cllr Stefan Heighway, Great Dawley Town Council 

County Association Project of the Year

  • Dorset Association of Parish and Town Councils
  • East and West Sussex Associations of Local Councils
  • Lincolnshire Association of Local Councils
  • Northamptonshire County Association of Local Councils
  • Suffolk Association of Local Councils

Clerk of the Year

  • Sarah Haydon, Biddulph Town Council
  • Sandra Mayers, Whiston Town Council
  • Terry Philpott, Ware Town Council
  • Adam Shanley, City of Durham Parish Council
  • John Vickery, Cambourne Town Council

The Council of the Year category will be decided by a public vote. Cast your vote and help decide who will be crowned as NALC's Star Council Awards 2022 Council of the Year winner.

Cllr Keith Stevens, NALC chair, said: “Congratulations to all of the finalists. Our judging panels were very impressed with the quality of the entries and commented on how impressive the work of the local council sector has been this year.”

The judging panel included representatives from stakeholders all across the sector, including the Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities, the Local Government Association, the County Councils Network, the District Councils' Network, and the Society of Local Council Clerks.

The winners will be announced at a virtual ceremony later in the year.

Find out more about the finalists

Vote for your Council of the Year
NALC seeks partners to deliver financial advisory ...

This site uses cookies.

By continuing to use this site, you agree to their use Learn more

I understand