NALC announces Star Councils 2016 Awards finalists

NALC announces Star Councils 2016 Awards finalists

The National Association of Local Councils (NALC) has today (30 September 2016) announced the finalists for its Star Councils 2016 awards.

The Star Councils 2016 awards are an all important recognition of all the amazingly effective hard work this being undertaken by local councils, local councillors, local council officers and workers as well as county associations.

NALC were inundated with hundreds of nominations, which shows and highlights the localist powerhouse work undertaken at the neighbourhood and community level. This all comes within the background of opportunities available through devolution and localism; and the challenges of the difficult financial climate many local areas face at the moment.

Cllr Ken Browse, chair of NALC, said: “The judging panel on the day had to make some very tough and difficult decisions because the standard of entrees were so high. Indeed the judging panel remarked it was wonderful and amazing to see all this incredible community engagement going on in our sector. It was a day to make us proud of the sector.”

The panel included representatives from the Department of Communities and Local Government, Local Government Association, Society of Local Council Clerks, and NALC. 

The winners in each category will be announced at the Star Councils 2016 awards 2016 ceremony at the NALC Annual Conference in Birmingham on 19 October 2016.

Find out more about NALC Star Councils Awards

Council of Year

  • Oswestry Town Council, Shrophshire

  • Sevenoaks Town Council, Kent 

  • Falmouth Town Council, Cornwall

Local Council Outstanding Project of the Year

  • Condover Parish Council, Shropshire

  • Newport Pagnell Town Council, Buckinghamshire

  • Helston Town Council, Cornwall

Councillor of the Year

  • Cllr Helen Ogden, Westerham Town Council, Kent

  • Cllr Carole Cockburn, Farnham Town Council, Surrey

  • Cllr Brian Bath, Holmes Chapel Parish Council, Cheshire

CALCs Outstanding Project of Year

  • Dorset Association of Parish and Town Councils

  • Kent Association of Local Councils

  • Leicestershire and Rutland Association of Local Councils

Clerk of Year

  • Susan Wilthew, Chippenham Town Council, Wiltshire

  • Gina Lowe, Kineton Parish Council, Warwickshire

  • Karen Kuderovitch, Woodham Ferrers and Bicknacre Parish Council, Essex

Young Councillor of Year (18-30)

  • Cllr Sarah Cursons, Leighton-Linslade Town Council, Bedfordshire

  • Cllr Daniel Dubar, Polegate Town Council, East Sussex

Shortlist for C’llr Achievement Awards announced
Media Watch | 52

This site uses cookies.

By continuing to use this site, you agree to their use Learn more

I understand