Sponsored by BHIB Councils Insurance

NALC’s Star Council Awards are the only awards which recognise the achievements of the local (parish and town) council sector. The awards celebrate the positive impact that councils, county associations, councillors and clerks have on their communities. 

This year's finalists have been announced and it's time to vote for your Council of the Year in a public vote. Please see the supporting statements from the finalists below and cast your votes by 30 September. 


The National Association of Local Councils (NALC) Star Council Awards winners were this evening announced at a celebratory ceremony at NALC’s Annual Conference.

This year’s winners are:

  • Council of the Year: Woughton Community Council, Buckinghamshire and Milton Keynes 
  • Councillor of the Year: Cllr Sarah Williams, Bridport Town Council, Dorset
  • Young Councillor of the Year: Cllr Daniel Thomas, Much Wenlock Town Council, Shropshire
  • Clerk of the Year: Donna Ford, Midsomer Norton Town Council, Avon
  • County Association Project of the Year: Northamptonshire County Association of Local Councils

Cllr Sue Baxter, chairman of NALC, said: “NALC received a record number of entries to this year’s awards, all telling us how the local council sector is making a difference to communities across the country. The awards demonstrate that local councils continue to be committed to improved working, community leadership and service delivery. They allow us to share good practice and promote the sector on the national stage. I would like to congratulate this year’s winners and urge all local councils to see what they can learn from their stories.”

NALC would like to thank its expert judging panel, the Lord Lieutenant of Buckinghamshire, the sponsors, trophy suppliers and all entrants and attendees for making the awards possible.

Read Star Council Awards 2019: The finalists